Dead and Gone

Classic Crimes of North Carolina

Dead and Gone

Dead and Gone: Classic Crimes of North Carolina

Dead and Gone

Dead and Gone

The werewolves and shifters come out of the closet and throw the small town of Bon Temps into a tailspin in the ninth novel in the #1 New York Times bestselling Sookie Stackhouse series—the inspiration for the HBO® original series True Blood. Except for cocktail waitress Sookie Stackhouse, folks in Bon Temps, Louisiana, knew little about vamps—and nothing about Weres. Until now. The Weres and shifters have finally revealed their existence to the ordinary world, and the backlash may have claimed the life of someone Sookie knew. But her determination to find out who is responsible for the murder is put aside in the face of a far greater danger. A race of unhuman beings—older, more powerful, and more secretive than vampires or werewolves—is preparing for war. And Sookie will find herself an all-too-human pawn in their battle...

Dead and Gone

A Yoshinobu Mystery

Dead and Gone

The rain-soaked streets of Napua on Hawaii s island of Elima are a far cry from a battlefield but, for returned soldier Kimo Stanner, there s a sudden reminder of warfare when a figure rushes in front of his pickup and he feels the impact. Even before getting out to view the damage, he knows the pedestrian is dead, and there s nothing for it but to report to the police except that when the police arrive, the body has disappeared. When he turns to the firm of Smith, Chu and Yoshinobu to defend him on what is now simply a drunk-driving charge, Kimo s attorney is Laura Correa, newly hired by the firm. Kay Yoshinobu agrees to help the nervous attorney with her first case as a trial lawyer. With no missing persons reported, and no proof that there was actually a body at the scene, the case goes well, the judge is sympathetic, the defense witnesses are effective, and the prosecuting attorney isn t out for blood. And that s when things go wrong terribly wrong. A body turns up in a local gulch, is clearly the one Kimo reported, and the DUI is then raised to manslaughter. As the police look into the matter, they find more and more evidence to indicate even that charge may be changed to something more serious, and Kay s investigative abilities are put to a severe test. That Kimo s pickup clearly struck a pedestrian who was alive at the time seems irrefutable. And, by Kimo s own testimony, the man was dead following the accident. To prove otherwise seems both medically and legally impossible, but Laura and Kay soon find that there may be another explanation. And the search for it takes them off to interview a host of strange people.

Dead and Gone

Dead and Gone

From the modern master of noir, Andrew Vachss, comes this heart-topping and bestselling new thriller that completely reinvents the Burke series. Urban Outlaw Burke barely survives an attack by a professional hit squad that kills his partner. With a new face, Burke goes into hiding. And on the hunt. Dead and Gone takes him from the streets of New York City through a cross-country underground, and deep into his own tortured past. The violent journey ends in a place that exists only in the dreams of the darkest degenerates on earth.

Dead and Gone

Dead and Gone

Fans of David Baldacci, Nelson DeMille, John Sanford, Stieg Larsson and Lee Child will enjoy this new book from international best-selling author R.J. Patterson. How can someone be murdered in plain sight in front of thousands of people—and nobody even know it was happening? When popular stock car racer Carson Tanner dies on the track and stuns the motorsports world, reporter Cal Murphy witnesses the event in disbelief. Something seems off to Cal—and his suspicions are confirmed with a cryptic handwritten note stuck into his pocket. As the race circuit moves to Phoenix, Cal races against the clock to uncover who sabotaged Tanner’s car—and all upstream against wealthy team owner Ned Davis, who wants to suppress the information; an uncooperative crew full of suspects; and an upstart driver who refuses to let his debut be ruined by such a report. In an effort to expose the killer and help Tanner’s grieving widow, Cal faces his greatest fear and must decide how far he’s willing to go in order to get justice.

Dead & Gone

Dead & Gone

How did Riot escape from the Night Church? How did she survive the Rot & Ruin—and the horrors of her own past? There’s only one way to find out.... Jonathan Maberry explores the origins of a fascinating new character in an exclusive e-short story set in the land of the Rot & Ruin.

#3 Dead and Gone

#3 Dead and Gone

A shallow grave. Human remains. An unsolved murder from years ago. It looks like the past is coming back to wreak havoc on Mike's new life. What's making the usually unshakeable Riel so rattled, and what does a beautiful but manipulative girl have to do with it all?

Amelia Anne is Dead and Gone

Amelia Anne is Dead and Gone

An arresting un-coming-of-age story, from a breathtaking talent Becca has always longed to break free from her small, backwater hometown. But the discovery of an unidentified dead girl on the side of a dirt road sends the town--and Becca--into a tailspin. Unable to make sense of the violence of the outside world creeping into her backyard, Becca finds herself retreating inward, paralyzed from moving forward for the first time in her life. Short chapters detailing the last days of Amelia Anne Richardson's life are intercut with Becca's own summer as the parallel stories of two young women struggling with self-identity and relationships on the edge twist the reader closer and closer to the truth about Amelia's death.

Dead and Gone

Dead and Gone

There's nothing more dangerous than revenge. Judi Westerholme has been through it. Brave and strong-willed, she's just about coping in her new role as foster parent to her orphaned niece, taking a job at the local pub to help make ends meet. Then the pub's landlord and Judi's friend, army veteran Pete 'Macca' Maccasfield, is murdered, and her world is suddenly turned upside down. Despite warnings from the city police to keep out of it, Judi can't help but get involved in the search for Macca's killer. But she soon becomes deeply entangled with some ruthlessly dangerous men. She must act fast and think smart to work out what they want - before anyone else gets hurt... Long buried secrets resurface in Sherryl Clark's pacey crime novel that pushes Judi Westerholme to her limits to protect the people she loves most. ---------------------------- Praise for Sherryl Clark 'Sherryl Clark is a worthy addition to the crime writing fraternity, and Trust Me, I’m Dead is a book you should definitely add to your reading list' - Shots Mag 'A whodunnit worthy of a binge alert' - The Westsider